Cost of senior living
In 2025 the U.S. median cost was $6,200 per month for assisted living, $9,581 per month for a semi-private nursing home room and $35 per hour for a non-medical home caregiver, according to the CareScout Cost of Care Survey.[1] California medians were higher: $7,000 per month for assisted living and $12,167 for a semi-private nursing home room.[2]
National, California and San Diego medians
| Type of care | United States | California | San Diego area |
|---|---|---|---|
| Assisted living (RCFE in California) | $6,200 | $7,000 | $6,820 |
| Nursing home, semi-private room | $9,581 | $12,167 | $12,319 |
| Nursing home, private room | $10,798 | $15,178 | $16,729 |
| Non-medical caregiver (44 hrs/week) | $6,673 | $7,627 | $7,627 |
| Adult day health care | $2,058 | $2,037 | $2,037 |
Sources: CareScout Cost of Care Survey 2025 national figures and Median Cost Data Tables; San Diego figures are for the San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad metropolitan area from the CareScout calculator.[1][2][3]
| Type of care | United States | California | San Diego area |
|---|---|---|---|
| Assisted living | $74,400 | $84,000 | $81,840 |
| Nursing home, semi-private | $114,975 | $146,000 | $147,825 |
| Nursing home, private | $129,575 | $182,135 | $200,750 |
| Non-medical caregiver | $80,080 | $91,520 | $91,520 |
| Adult day health care | $24,700 | $24,440 | $24,440 |
Year-over-year change
Between the 2024 and 2025 surveys, national medians rose 5% for assisted living ($5,900 to $6,200 per month), 3% for a semi-private nursing home room ($9,277 to $9,581), 1% for a private room ($10,646 to $10,798) and 3% for a non-medical caregiver ($34 to $35 per hour), while adult day health care fell 5% ($100 to $95 per day).[1]
How the survey works
From July through November 2025, CareScout contacted 211,985 long-term care providers by phone and email and completed approximately 16,000 surveys: 6,014 home care providers, 608 adult day health care facilities, 4,944 licensed assisted living communities and 4,425 certified and licensed nursing homes. Results are published for 434 regions based on U.S. metropolitan statistical areas.[1][4] CareScout, which now runs the survey formerly published under the Genworth name, notes that any one provider’s price may differ significantly from the median for its area.[1]
Costs not covered by the survey
- Independent living and CCRC entrance and monthly fees are not reported.[1]
- Memory care is not reported separately from assisted living and nursing homes.[1]
- Many assisted living communities charge more for higher levels of care or special services.[5]
Who pays
Medicare does not pay for long-term custodial care, so most people combine personal funds, Medicaid (Medi-Cal in California) if eligible, long-term care insurance and veterans’ benefits.[6][7] See Paying for senior living.
Frequently asked questions
What is the average cost of assisted living in California?
The CareScout Cost of Care Survey 2025 reports a California median of $7,000 per month, or $84,000 per year, for assisted living (residential care facilities).[2]
How much does senior living cost in San Diego?
For the San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad area in 2025, CareScout reports medians of $6,820 per month for assisted living, $12,319 for a semi-private nursing home room, $16,729 for a private room and $40 per hour for a non-medical caregiver.[3]
Is the Genworth Cost of Care Survey still published?
Yes, as the CareScout Cost of Care Survey. CareScout has conducted the survey since 2004 and published 2025 results in 2026.[1][2]
See also
References
Web pages accessed September 28, 2026 unless noted. See sources and methodology.
- ^ "Cost of Care Survey 2025: national median costs". CareScout (formerly the Genworth Cost of Care Survey). Survey fielded July–November 2025.
- ^ "Cost of Care Survey 2025: Median Cost Data Tables (PDF, dated 03/02/26)". CareScout. 2025 data.
- ^ "Cost of Care Survey 2025 calculator: San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad area". CareScout. 2025 data for the San Diego metropolitan area.
- ^ "Cost of Care Survey 2025: Methodology (PDF)". CareScout. 2025 data.
- ^ "Long-Term Care Facilities: Assisted Living, Nursing Homes, and Other Residential Care". National Institute on Aging (NIH).
- ^ "Long-term care (coverage page)". Medicare.gov, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.
- ^ "Paying for Long-Term Care". National Institute on Aging (NIH).